5 12 2012

Great news in the baseball world. The late Tom Cheek, who had been the primary play-by-play voice for the Toronto Blue Jays, calling a total of 4,306 consecutive Jays games before cancer prematurely took him from us, has been named the 2013 Ford C. Frick Award recipient by the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown today.

This award has been a very long time coming. Including this year, he’d been nominated for the Frick Award for nine consecutive years. But the campaigning to have him honoured is now done, successfully.

The Ford C. Frick Award recognizes one’s contribution to baseball broadcasting, and Tom was one of the best, being with the Jays from their opening day in 1977.

Congratulations, Tom!


Congratulations Pat Gillick!

6 12 2010

Earlier today, it was announced that Pat Gillick, former GM of the Toronto Blue Jays, and one of the architects behind the Blue Jays’ World Series years in 1992 and 1993, has been elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame for 2011.

In addition to his years with the Blue Jays, Gillick also was involved in building the Baltimore Orioles, Seattle Mariners and the Philadelphia Phillies into contenders, and won a third World Series title in 2008 with the Phillies. In all, Gillick has spent nearly 50 years in baseball, 27 of them as a big league general manager.

Congratulations, Pat Gillick! A very deserving honour!

2011 could be a huge year for baseball in Canada. Gillick is in the Hall of Fame. Former Blue Jays 2B Roberto Alomar is expected to be chosen in January. Plus, two other awards handed out by the Hall of Fame will have their winners announced very soon, each with a notable Canadian as a potential honouree.

Bob Elliott of the Toronto Sun is in the running for the J.G. Taylor Spink Award, which recognizes contributions to baseball writing. And the original play-by-play broadcaster for the Blue Jays, the late Tom Cheek, who has been nominated for the award for each of the past 7 years, is again being considered for the Ford C. Frick award, for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

I’ll announce the winners of those awards very soon.