Social Media: good for me, but…

11 01 2012

If you know me well, then you know that in person, I’m a very shy person – perhaps too shy for my own good. The appropriate term is “wallflower”.

That is why I’m thankful for the latest developments in the web and social media. Being on Twitter and Facebook enable me to get to know some great people from all over the world, but not forcing me to meet them face to face, which is a serious problem.

However, it does not mean that you any less likely to be hurt.

Such was the case a month ago when Clint Miller lost his battle with cancer a month ago.

I’d heard about Clint’s battle with cancer some time ago when a couple of my friends on Twitter mentioned him. I’d read that Clint had been showing an incredibly positive attitude, even when faced with his own mortality, and that inspired me to check out his tribute page. I was pleased to see that I was not the only person who was drawn to this page – there were hundreds of us throwing our support behind Clint, his wife Angela, and Clint’s family.

For some time, every now and then, Clint would pop in himself into the group, just to say hi. That was really neat to see. But then, in the weeks that followed, his visits to Facebook were less often, and Angela had posted that Clint was spending more time in bed, resting. However, all of us were hoping that this was one of those bumps in the road, that Clint would be back among us before long.

Sadly, that wasn’t to be. Angela posted what none of us, though we knew to expect it at some point, wanted to see: that Clint had passed away.

I must admit, though Clint and I didn’t know each other for very long, his death hit me very hard – much harder than I expected. Mutual friends told me that Clint was that way: very outgoing, and it didn’t take a long time to form a special attachment of friendship with him. Part of me still wishes that I had met Clint sooner.

I’m pleased to see that the support group is not only still around, but there are still a lot of people around to support Angela and Clint’s family. I’m proud to be part of that group.

PS – one neat thing that has come from all of this is that the group Besties with Testies has gone all out in its campaign to increase awareness of testicular cancer, the kind of cancer that, sadly, claimed Clint. On the plus side, when detected early, the chance of surviving testicular cancer is excellent. However, because of where this cancer is on the body, discussion of it is considered taboo, when it shouldn’t be. Besties with Testies has really gone out to try to make people aware of testicular cancer, and much of the heightened awareness comes from Clint’s own battles with it! Check out this video and pass the word!

http://vimeo.com/34865069

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

