I’m thankful for…

11 10 2010

It’s Thanksgiving Day in Canada: a time for me to think about the things that I am thankful for in my life.

It has now been a little over four years since I’ve been in a wheelchair. Though my legs no longer work, I am thankful for the fact that the upper half of my body is still ok and, in particular, my arms and hands still work just fine. Being still able to use my arms and hands has been critical to my being able to largely be independent.

I am thankful that I have found BounceRadio.net and that I have two radio shows to host every week. The station has a really wonderful group of people who take part. These are people who are a joy to get to know, and I’m grateful to be able to call them friends.

I’m thankful for the friendships that I have gained since joining Twitter and Facebook. Yes, I will agree: social media is not for everyone. But I have found a major benefit from it, in that it has given me the opportunity to meet and get to know some wonderful people, who I would not have had the chance to meet otherwise.

Admittedly, the past few years since my legs gave out have not been easy – both physically and emotionally. But one person who has been there to help through all of this is my brother. When I was in the hospital for five months in 2006, Kelan came to visit frequently, and that in itself helped me to not feel alone while I was there. Since getting out of the hospital, he’s still been there for me, to help on errands, and even to just say hi on occasion. Thank you, Kelan.

Happy Thanksgiving, Canada! And be sure to take a few minutes to think about what you have to be thankful for.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

