Changes at The Price Is Right this fall…

24 07 2010

Like, I’m sure, many fans of The Price Is Right, I did not see this coming.

It’s been announced (and confirmed by Rich himself) that Rich Fields, the show’s announcer since 2004, will not be returning this fall. Instead, producers will be going in a different direction for the announcer position, with plans to hire an improv comic, and to move TPIR into a combination of game show and variety show.

I will admit: it took me some time to embrace Rich as the announcer of The Price Is Right.

I’ve been a fan of TPIR pretty much since its debut in 1972. I was very young at the time, but TPIR was one of the shows that really turned me into a life-long game show fan. And so, when original announcer Johnny Olson passed away and Rod Roddy took over, it took some adjustment time on my part before Rod became as much a part of TPIR as Johnny.

The same was true with me for Rich. When it was announced that he was to take over for Rod after he passed away, again, I was wondering how this “new kid in town” would fit in.

In my mind, he fit in very well, especially after Drew Carey took over as the host in 2007. Rich put his own style into announcing the show, which I grew to like as well as those of his predecessors. I loved the banter that took place between Rich and Drew, especially during the past couple of years.

For those of you who wonder what is next for Rich Fields, do not worry. He has indeed landed on his feet. He is also a trained meteorologist, and can be seen on Los Angeles CBS-owned stations KCBS-TV and KCAL-TV. In addition, he has other to-be-announced projects in the works. I’m pleased to say, folks: you have not heard the last of Rich Fields.

To Rich: thank you for your time as the announcer for The Price Is Right. And the best of luck to you in the future.

Actions

Information

One response

29 09 2010
Jimmy Sparks

I always liked Rich Fields and he will be missed very much. I have watched Tpir for a long time.

Leave a Reply

