I guess this is how I grieve…

1 03 2010

At least, that’s the case where my mother is concerned.

As I mentioned in a brief entry on Saturday, I found out my mom has passed away. She died this past Thursday in hospital.

I’ve been told that people grieve the loss of loved ones in different ways. No one way is more or less valid than any other. I found out yesterday that, for me, my grief takes on the form of depression. Yesterday, I was pretty much non-functional: aside from a small handful of tweets on Twitter after the men’s Olympic hockey final and during the closing ceremonies for the Games, I’d effectively shut down completely.

The rest of the day, I had DVDs running on the laptop, but I’m not sure if I was really actively watching them. I know I’d dozed off a lot, but for me, that’s normal now that I’m in the wheelchair anyway. But perhaps it’s also because I didn’t feel like doing anything else.

There is the possibility that I will also grieve in the more conventional way later on. Time will tell. I know that as of right now, I’m in for a rough time. I’ll talk more about it later.

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 03 2010
Paul

Jim

you are right we all grieve differently and in various stages. No right way no wrong way. It will take time and it is an essential part of life.

Take your time and remember you have a lot of friends around you that are here for you whenever you need them.

2 03 2010
Jim Todd

Thank you for that, Paul. One of the blessings from the past year has been meeting and getting to know some great people on both Twitter and Facebook. Knowing that there are people there to help you through times like these is a big help itself.

Leave a Reply

