Not going to be a fun month…

2 02 2010

Please bear with me, friends.

Particularly, since I’ve been in this wheelchair, the month of February has been one of my least favourite months, for a number of reasons:

1. As Wiarton Willie indicated this morning (it’s Feb. 2, Groundhog Day as I write this), we’re in for six more weeks of winter, apparently, as Willie did see his shadow. Winter is my least favourite of seasons, because wheelchairs and snow simply do not get along, and it’s too cold for me to be comfortable anywhere but indoors.

Summer is my second-least favourite season, but there’s no need to go there right now.

2. Valentine’s Day: for those of you for whom this occasion actually has some meaning, I wish you all the best. I won’t be sharing in that myself, however. The last time I’d had a girlfriend was way back when I was in high school, and with the condition I’m in right now, and the fact that I was (at best) inept socially even before the wheelchair, my chances of finding someone to share my life, and therefore finding some meaning to Valentine’s Day, are nil.

3. My birthday is this month. I used to be able to tolerate my birthday, but that was, again, before the wheelchair found me. Now it only serves to remind me that I’m one year older, and that the past year, there wasn’t a whole hell of a lot to cheer about. And pardon my pessimism, but I don’t see a lot to cheer about in the coming year, either.

Maybe I should find a nice big rock to hide under until March 1st. Does anyone have such a rock that I can borrow?

Until then, again, folks, please bear with me. I know I’m in for a rough ride this month.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

