“One Hit Wonders” Musical Journey this Friday!

14 01 2010

Whew! I didn’t realize what I was getting myself into when I announced this.

On Over The Hump Wednesday night, I announced that, for the first themed Musical Journey of 2010, I’m dedicating Friday’s show to the one hit wonder – 3 full hours of them!

But little did I realize how difficult it would be to whittle things down to 3 hours of one hit wonders, especially when there are a number of definitions for one hit wonders. And thus, what is a one hit wonder to some may not be so to others. So, before I started looking through the lists I’ve seen online, I had to set a firm set of criteria myself.

I decided that, even though I’m in Canada, since BounceRadio is an American station, my list should be based on what is considered a one hit wonder stateside. I also defined, for the purposes of my show, a one hit wonder as an artist or band who had one and only one song that reached the top 40 of Billboard’s Hot 100 chart, regardless of success on any other chart or in any other country.

While I felt this to be a good limit to work with, it did reveal a few surprises: some artists who had done well in other parts of the world, such as Canada or the UK, but had just the one song to make the top 40, and therefore qualified for my list. Others were well known in other genres, such as country music, but again had the single song that crossed over to the Billboard chart.

You’ll hear samples of both instances on the show Friday. There are many artists that you will recognize as one hit wonders, but some of the artists will surprise you. But that is not necessarily a bad thing.

At the same time, there were a number of what otherwise would be one hit wonders, except for the fact that they had one or more additional songs that, though they barely made it, cracked the top 40, and therefore, had to be disqualified from my show. But even with these artists not appearing, I believe you’ll hear a good sample of one hit wonders this week.

The “One Hit Wonders” Musical Journey airs Friday, January 15, at 7pm Eastern, 4pm Pacific, and you’re invited to join me! Just go to www.BounceRadio.net and click “BounceRadio Music” to tune in and join our live chat.

See you then!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

