Remembering 9/11, eight years later…

11 09 2009

I’m sure most people remember where they were and what they were doing when the attacks occurred on September 11, 2001. That date became one of those “Where were you when…?” moments, where you probably have very strong memories of the horrific events of that day.

I was getting ready for work. Usually for shifts like that day, I had the TV on to Citytv’s Breakfast Television, which was simulcast on CP24, the affiliated news channel at the time, but had the audio switched to that station’s Secondary Audio Program (SAP), which was set to the Toronto radio station I was listening to back then.

At just after 9am, I was starting to get dressed and be ready to head out for a late-morning shift. I’d noticed that Kevin Frankish, one of the hosts for BT, was still on the air with breaking news. I switched the audio over to the main TV broadcast, and heard the news of the first plane having hit the World Trade Center.

Of course, I was horrified that something like this could happen. At first, details were sketchy, which makes sense, as no one could have considered that such a heinous act could have taken place – a loaded jetliner flown into the WTC?? I couldn’t believe it.

And then, the second jet hit.

I was living in Toronto at the time, and life in the city had changed drastically that day. I was able to get to work without trouble, but later that day, the subway had been closed lest it should be a target for other attacks. The city came to a virtual standstill. One of my managers borrowed my Walkman to listen to the radio for any other updates that day.

The TV in our break room was set to the live news report from Global Television’s National bureau, and that channel didn’t change for days after the attack. It was from the TV that I’d heard about the attack at the Pentagon, and the crash of the jet in Pennsylvania, which we later found out to be an act of heroism on the part of the passengers, giving their lives to save others at other possible targets, reported to be either the Capitol in Washington, or even the White House.

It is now eight years after the attacks and I still remember first hearing about it as if it were yesterday.

In memory of the nearly 3,000 people who lost their lives in the attacks, I invite you to join me for tonight’s Musical Journey. At the end of hour two, there will be a special tribute, with a set of songs plus a moment of silence.

The Musical Journey gets under way tonight at 6pm Eastern, 3pm Pacific. To listen, go to http://www.BounceRadio.net and click the “Bounce Music” button.

My thoughts go out to the victims of the 9/11 attacks, as well as their families and friends. We will never forget.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 09 2009
startcooking

Shortly after 9-11 my husband and I were in Melbourne, Australia and there were no tourists to be found anywhere. One museum guide pointed out to me that “when America stops, the world stops”.

11 09 2009
Jim Todd

Were you stuck in Australia for any length of time? I remember that all flights were held for a while after the attacks.

13 09 2009
startcooking

Actually our trip to Australia was about 2 months after 9/11.

Leave a Reply

