A message to Rogers Cable

31 08 2009

On September 1, Rogers Cable is adding 1.5% to my current cable bill, to be contributed to the new Local Programming Improvement Fund, a fund set up by the CRTC (Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission) to help TV stations in smaller markets in Canada. Instead of doing the right thing and absorbing this cost themselves, especially after a recent 5% rate hike, Rogers has added this cost to its customers’ cable bills.

The following is a letter I wrote to the President of Rogers Cable Communications:

As someone who is on a fixed income, I am very disappointed with this new Local Programming Improvement Fund (LPIF) fee that will be on my next cable bill.

In this economy, I am barely able to make ends meet as it is, and your upcoming 1.5% increase on the bill, over and above the some 5% increase earlier in 2009 (well over the current inflation rate, I might add), is unacceptable.

Furthermore, the pricing for cable is ridiculous. I subscribe to extended basic cable, and I’m finding I’m required to pay too much money for the large number of channels I’ll never watch, just so I can receive those few channels I do watch, and would not be otherwise able to get. And now, with this new LPIF I’ll be required to pay, I’ll be spending even more for what’s really not much value to me, and getting nothing in return.

Why are you making watching TV more expensive, especially for those who can least afford the increase? It is extremely unfair for Rogers to pass along the cost of the LPIF to your customers, when the fee really is supposed to come out of your own revenues. Your insistence that we, your customers, pay the LPIF along with our regular bill is making me strongly consider whether I should be a Rogers customer in the future.

Sincerely,

Jim Todd

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

